The prompt for the tenth day of NaPoWriMo is to write a poem that is a portrait of someone important to you. It doesn’t need to focus so much on what a person looks (or looked) like, as what they are or were.

I’ve tried to draw a portrait of my five year old son, the younger of my two boys  and I thought it prudent to share his picture too 🙂

Vyom

 

Cheerful and chirping he jumps my way

his hugs and kisses just make my day

playful and witty he’s always on roll

meeting his expectations can be a toll

 

 

You can spot him anywhere in the home

with a bat in his hand swinging up the dome

all dressed in helmet, pads and gloves

playing for India is his first love

 

 

Don’t mistake the silence for his nap

he’s laid his hands on phone or tab

but that doesn’t label him as inane

he’s most observant with a sharp brain

 

 

He does computations above his age

his inquisitiveness has no gauge

his innocence is beyond compare

his strife for perfection often lends him a tear

 

 

His warmth and affection comfort like a balm

I feel fortunate for being his mom

my cricket crazy, my number geek

he’s star of our family, he’s truly unique!

 

 

napo2017button2

