The prompt for NaPoWriMo for today is to  write a clerihew. This is a four line biographical poem that satirizes a famous person. The first line is the name of the poem’s subject, usually a famous person put in an absurd light, or revealing something unknown and/or spurious about them. The rhyme scheme is AABB, and the rhymes are often forced. Here’s a quadruplet of Clerihew. And the most important thing, the last one about “Bill Gates” has been written solely by my nine year old son, who found it fun while I was composing 🙂

 

Steve Jobs

Steven Paul “Steve” Jobs

Rivals say, “Steve robs”

What a wit to term a computer an “Apple”

And let the entire world grapple!

 


 

Queen Elizabeth

 

Her Majesty The Queen Elizabeth

The name itself can terrify death

Commemorating Sapphire Jubilee at age of ninety

Oh! how I wish all that royalty from Almighty

 


 

Tagore

 

Rabindra Nath Tagore

Your works make me implore

I wish you were born in my time

Penning poems while we drink and dine!

 


 

bill gates

 

Bill Gates

I wish we were mates

I know you have a friend Steve

Who doesn’t know how to weave!

 

