Dharmachakra or the Wheel of Dharma is one of the many sacred teachings of Buddhism. Also called “The wheel of law”, the word Dharmachakra represents the path to enlightenment and reaching Nirvana.

Though there are many variations of the Dharma Wheel, the one I have drawn in the picture has eight spokes representing the Eightfold Path to Buddhism.

The eight spokes represent:

  • Right View
  • Right Intention
  • Right Speech
  • Right Action
  • Right Livelihood
  • Right Effort
  • Right Mindfulness
  • Right Meditation

The hub in the center of the Dharma Wheel represents moral discipline.

The rim of the Dharma Wheel further signifies the ability to hold all of the teachings together by meditating and concentrating.