I had wanted to do this painting for quite sometime, especially when I was inclined to meditation in the last 3-4 months. I’m glad I finally painted this before the year ended.

I want to share some facts about the Sapta chakras or Seven Chakras, though I am sure many of you might be aware of these already.

Everything in our universe is made of energy, from the pebble to the ocean, the mountains, the trees as well as each individual cell in our bodies. Chakras are the energy centres essential for our vital life force.

Some say there are 114 different chakras, but there are seven main chakras that run along our spine.

All seven chakras have their own particular colour, light and element associated with each. These are the colours we see in the rainbow – violet, indigo, green, yellow, orange, blue and red.

Since each chakra relates to specific spiritual, emotional, psychological, and physical aspects of our being, it is believed that their blockage or malfunction can lead to physical, psychological and emotional disorders. The conscious awareness and balancing of these energy centers, on the other hand, is believed to lead to wellbeing and good health. 

These are the seven main chakras

  1. Root Chakra (Muladhar Chakra):
    1. Location: The base of the spine;
    1. Color – Red;
    1. Function: Physical Identity, Stability, grounding 
  • Sacral Chakra (Svadisthan Chakra):
  • Location: Just below the belly button, just above the pubic bone
  • Color – Orange;
  • Function: Sexuality, pleasure, creativity
  • Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura Chakra)
    • Location: The Upper abdomen, in the stomach area;
    • Color – Yellow;
    • Function: Self- esteem, confidence
  •  Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra)
    • Location: The centre of the chest;
    • Color – Green;
    • Function: Love, Compassion
  • Throat Chakra (Vishuddhi Chakra)
    • Location: The throat;
    • Color – Blue;
    • Function: Communication and self-expression
  •  Third Eye Chakra (Ajna Chakra)
    • Location: Between the eyes, on the forehead;
    • Color – Indigo;  
    • Function: Intuition, imagination
  • Crown Chakra (Sahastrar Chakra)
    • Location: Top of the head;
    • Color – Violet;
    • Function: Intelligence, awareness

Sending positive energy your way and wishing a balanced state and perfect alignment of your chakras!

Wish you all a very happy, safe, healthy and energetic New Year 2022!